Cassandra Clare

Cassandra Clare
(A.K.A. Queen Cassie)

Cassie is the glorious author that created the beautiful Shadowhunter series.

Born Judith Rumelt on July 27, 1973. She’s an American author that started her career working at various entertainment magazines and tabloids, including The Hollywood Reporter.

She started writing Fan Fiction while living in Los Angeles. Her most popular series were called The Draco Trilogy based on characters from the Harry Potter series, as well as The Very Secret Diaries based on The Lord of the Rings.

The Mortal Instruments

Cassie started her Shadowhunter series back in 2004 when she was talking to a friend who is a tattoo artist. Cassie wished there were tattoos that could give you powers, and that is how the idea for Runes came about. She then built the stories around these powers you get from the runes.

She has mentioned in numerous interviews how some of the characters she created are based on people she knows, such as Maureen is based on her good friend Maureen Johnson (Co-Writer of The Bane Chronicles) who is obsessed with the character, Simon Lewis.

City of Bones was first released in 2007 by Simon & Schuster. It made its way to the top of the NY Times best sellers list.

The Mortal Instruments was originally suppose to be a trilogy, consisting of City of Bones, City of Ashes and City of Glass. But after she finished CoG she had a lot more she wanted to write about, mainly surrounding the character Simon, and decided she would do a spin off with Simon as the lead character. But as she started to prepare for this, she released she had enough information for another 3 books, this is where City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls and City of Heavenly Fire have come from.

The Infernal Devices

In 2009, Cassie announced that she would write a prequel series to The Mortal Instruments. This would be set in Victorian England and would still be set in the Shadowhunter World we have learnt to love.

She has said that she first came up with the idea while on Blackfriars Bridge in London and she thought about two characters being chased by automaton’s.

The series consists of 3 books:

Clockwork Angel – released 31/08/2010
Clockwork Prince – released 06/12/2011
Clockwork Princess – released 23/03/2013

Official Accounts



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s